Transfer Waivers Granted in D-I Women’s Basketball for 2018-19 Season

List of D-I women’s basketball players who transferred following the 2017-18 season and then received a waiver to play immediately at their new school (arranged alphabetically by new school, with previous school in parentheses). (Last updated: December 23, 2018) This does not include the 63 or so graduate transfers for the 2018-19 season.

Former schools that underwent coaching changes are noted, as is information about the player, such as those that sat out all or most of 2017-18. These may or may not have been factors in the NCAA granting a waiver.

Number of waivers granted: 26

There were approximately 140 D-I WBB players who transferred to another D-I school following the 2017-18 season, not including the 63 or so grad transfers. So, with 26 known waivers, about 19 percent of the non-grad transfers have received waivers from the NCAA.

Out of the 26 waivers listed, 7 have gone to players transferring to a Power 5 school.

Buffalo: Finess Dickson (Memphis; press release on her waiver approval; sat out most of 2017-18, her freshman season, with an injury)

Denver: Courtney Smith (Northern Colorado [coaching change])

Eastern Washington: Leya DePriest (Denver)

Grand Canyon: AJ Cephas (Nevada; dismissed from the team in the summer of 2018)

High Point: Bria Gibson (VCU [coaching change])

Kansas State: Jasauen Beard (UTRGV, where she was a midseason transfer in 2017-18 but did not play at all that season)

Long Beach State: Cydnee Kinslow (Illinois) [granted eligibility midyear]

Louisiana Tech: Grayson Bright (Texas Tech [coaching change])

UMass Lowell: Brianne Stiers (UMKC)

Ole Miss: Gabby Crawford (Alabama, the school she originally signed with and enrolled at for her freshman year, 2018-19; news release that mentions her waiver approval)

Mississippi State: Andra Espinoza-Hunter (UConn; press release on her waiver approval)

Montana: Sammy Fatkin (Arizona) [granted eligibility midyear]

Nevada: Mikayla Christian (TCU)

North Dakota: Alaina Jarnot (Monmouth; press release on her waiver approval)

Northern Arizona: Ajai Simmons (Illinois State)

Prairie View A&M: Artavia Ford (Texas Southern)

Purdue: Lyndsey Whilby (Texas Tech [coaching change]; press release on her waiver approval)

Sam Houston State: La’Sha Haynes (Prairie View A&M [coaching change])

San Diego State: Zayn Dornstauder (Ball State; sat out 2017-18 after transferring from San Francisco)

Seton Hall: Desiree Elmore (Syracuse; press release on her waiver approval; sat out 2017-18, her sophomore season, with an injury)

South Carolina State: Rhein Beamon (Georgia Southern)

Southeast Missouri: Celeste Akoro (Virginia Tech; sat out 2017-18 while recovering from an injury)

Southern Cal: Kayla Overbeck (Vanderbilt; press release on her waiver approval)

TCU: Anneli Maley (Oregon)

Troy: Kate Rodgers (Ole Miss [coaching change])

Wisconsin: Alex Luehring (Green Bay; article on her waiver approval)

Categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: